Upcoming events

    • Thursday, June 17, 2021
    • 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM (MDT)
    • ZOOM - Mountain Time
    • 47
    Register


    Textiles/Fiber and Climate

    Thursday, June 17, 2021

    United States: 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET

    Australia: 10am AEST

    In this roundtable show and tell and discussion we will explore the many ways artists are engaged with fiber and textiles to address climate. There are currently over fifty members who have identified textiles as one of their mediums. Arrive on time to save your place in line to share your work. We will also discuss the possibility of doing a group collaborative project as a monthly engagement through 2021.


    MEMBERS ONLY plus one guest per member. Capacity is 100 participants. All participants MUST REGISTER.

    Image: Brigitta Váradi | Noel Ruane, 2015, Ox Mountain Sheep Wool, branding fluid (ownership mark) 200 × 200 cm, Keith Nolan Photography


    • Thursday, June 24, 2021
    • 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM (MDT)
    • ZOOM - Mountain Time
    • 76
    Register


    Tree Talk: Artists Speak For Trees

    Thursday, June 24
    3pm PT, 4pm MT, 5pm CT, 6pm ET

    Australia 8am AEST

    Melinda Hurst Frye, Tony Bellaver, Narelle Carter-Quinlan, Pamela Pauline

    The beauty and mystery of trees has long been a subject for artists, and more recently, concern for the survival of forests (the lungs of our planet) has been paramount. Each month, artists working in a diversity of media share their artworks and ideas about these most essential and extraordinary living beings. Additionally, guest speakers including scientists, writers and activists are invited to present their work and contribute to the dialogue.

    Tree Talk is moderated by
    Sant Khalsa, ecofeminist artist and activist, whose work has focused on critical environmental and societal issues including forests and watersheds for four decades.
     
    Co-sponsored by Joshua Tree Center for Photographic Arts

    Members and one guest are free. General Public can attend for a $10. Capacity is 100 participants. All participants MUST REGISTER.


    Presenters:


    Melinda Hurst Frye centers her practice on themes of ecology and place in photographs of the churning Pacific Northwest landscape floor, the land of the Coast Salish people. She approaches the forest as an amateur ecologist; observing, sketching, noting, photographing specimens, and scanning the scene with a flatbed scanner. Analogous to scenes from a natural history museum, flora and fauna take center stage to illustrate that we are always tied to migration, evolution and metamorphosis. Hurst Frye holds an MFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, a BFA from Pacific Northwest College of Art, and is represented by J. Rinehart Gallery in Seattle. Frye is based in Washington State. mhurstfrye.com

    Image: Ghost Pipes, Hoh Rainforest, 2019, photograph, 30 x 40 inches


    Tony Bellaver addresses themes of human activity being the dominant influence on climate and the environment. His recent work is a deliberate critique on the extraction industry of forest clear cutting in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S. Titled "Resource Extraction," Bellaver uses a classic photographic approach to create images with the desire to share what he directly witness’. His multi-image mixed media books and sculptures examine and confront the anthropocentric practice of forest clear cutting. For his diary-like works, he uses hand-cut words to create a negative space in photographs along with maps, drawings and found foliage. Bellaver attended the San Francisco Art Institute for graduate school and has exhibit internationally. He spends a good amount of his time guiding back country trips for the Sierra Club. Bellaver is based in Oakland, California. tonybellaver.com

    Image: Endo-biotic Symbiosis, 2013, mixed media book object,11.5 x 24 x 7 inches


    Narelle Carter-Quinlan creates work that's an embodied ecology of Place. An anatomist and histologist, she experiences her body as part of the living fabric of Country. Beloved of one another, we are a Songline of intimacy, tissues of earth and ecosystems of the inner body in communion. An Australian, Narelle grew up by the sandstone cliffs of Coogee Beach. Her father, a surf lifesaver, initiated her into the practice of listening to Country - Dadirri. The felt known poetic places of lichen-nerve tracery, mangrove estuaried lymphatic systems, unfurling rainforests of our own lace lungs, ligamentous flow of fig roots, our internal waterways, phloem and xylem of interior creeks, rivers and ponds. We listen each other into form, sanctification, and benediction of reverence. The fascial net of paperback forests whose skin and bark interweaves. Tenderness. This work speaks a language without sound, direct transmission of knowing: tree skin - my skin - Australian skin. embodiedterrain.com

    Image: Forests, 2020



    Pamela Pauline creates works that are made entirely of flora and fauna that's endemic to Australia and listed as rare, vulnerable, or endangered. By co-opting photographs of live collections of Australia's imperiled plants and endangered birds into contemporary artworks, the viewer is asked to contemplate the deeper message around biodiversity loss rather than escape from it. Using skills garnered from two decades as a professional portrait, landscape and fine art photographer, her compositions are often deeply layered, highly emotive and exquisitely detailed. While some of Pauline’s work is decorative, much of it holds a deeper message around the importance of celebrating, documenting, and preserving Australian biodiversity. Pauline is based in Sydney, Australia. pamelapauline.com

    Image: Biophilia Bouquet, 2021, photographic collage, 100 cm x 80 cm.

Past events

Thursday, May 20, 2021 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Getting Off the Planet
Thursday, April 22, 2021 EARTH DAY for Trees
Thursday, March 25, 2021 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, March 11, 2021 The Human Animal Connection
Thursday, February 25, 2021 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, February 11, 2021 Art and Agriculture
Thursday, January 28, 2021 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Wednesday, January 06, 2021 Memorial for Amy Lipton (1956-2020)
Thursday, December 17, 2020 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, December 10, 2020 Art and Earth Justice
Thursday, November 19, 2020 TREE TALK: Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, November 12, 2020 ecoart TECH
Thursday, October 29, 2020 TREE TALK : Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, October 15, 2020 ecofeminism
Thursday, September 24, 2020 TREE TALK l Artists Speak For Trees
Thursday, September 17, 2020 Performative Dialogues - Part Two
Thursday, September 10, 2020 Performative Dialogues - Part One
Monday, August 31, 2020 Artists Supporting Indigenous Communities
Thursday, August 27, 2020 TREE TALK l Joshua Trees
Sunday, August 09, 2020 Atomic Dialogues
Thursday, July 30, 2020 TREE TALK
Sunday, June 28, 2020 My Life in Art: Bonnie Ora Sherk with Patricia Lea Watts
Friday, June 12, 2020 THE GREAT PAUSE DIALOGUES: TREES
Friday, June 12, 2020 Performative Ecologies
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 THE GREAT PAUSE DIALOGUES: CLIMATE and COVID-19
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 THE GREAT PAUSE 2020 l Earth Day Dialogues

ecoartspace, LLC

Mailing address: PO Box 5211 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software