• Home
  • EARTH DAY for Trees

EARTH DAY for Trees

  • Thursday, April 22, 2021
  • 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • ZOOM - Mountain Time

Registration

  • The Earth Day for Trees is FREE, however, we ask that you please make a donation on our donate page. Thank you!
  • The Earth Day for Trees is FREE, however, we ask that you please make a donation on our donate page. Thank you!

Register

©Meridel Rubenstein (photograph) at entrance to exhibition Breath Taking, New Mexico Museum of Art, Santa Fe.


EARTH DAY

for Trees

Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 11am-4pm MDT

1pm-6pm EDT/12pm-5pm CDT/10am-3pm PDT & 6pm-11pm WEST

This year's event will focus on trees and forests, the thematic of the 2021 ecoartspace online juried exhibition + book titled Embodied Forest.

Please join us for one or more of the scheduled events below. There's one Zoom link for the entire day. Come and go as you like. Each event will be recorded separately.

Look forward to spending the day with you talking trees!

Patricia Watts, founder

This event is FREE, however, please make a donation if you can.



event schedule

11am MDT (6pm WEST)

TREE TALK: Breath Taking - 360 curator tour

Katherine Ware, curator of the exhibition Breath Taking currently on view at the New Mexico Museum of Art in Santa Fe will take us on a virtual tour and discuss the evolution of the exhibition during the pandemic. Member artists will also discuss their work in the show including Sant Khalsa, Meridel Rubenstein, Marietta Patricia Leis, and Linda Alterwitz. The connections between forests and breath, as well as suffocation related to racial bias and environmental racism will be explored.

1.5 hours


1pm MDT (8pm WEST)

Eternal Forest: global exchange

Evgenia Emets is an artist and the founder of Eternal Forest. She will lead a global interactive live discussion with artists and researchers who are working with forest ecosystems exploring themes of trees and forests, and the guardianship or long-term protection of them. Participants will be invited to contribute in a cross-cultural exchange via break-out rooms where we will identify forests, trees and arboreal beings to be protected, as well as share artistic strategies to achieve this goal.

Eternal Forest is an ongoing project with the vision to create 1000 Eternal Forest Sanctuaries and protect them for 1000 years, through art and community.

Patricia Watts, founder of ecoartspace, will co-host the event.

Guest speakers include:

Ruby Reed is the co-founder of the transformative education platform Advaya. She will provide an overview of the upcoming Forest Guardians online workshop starting in May through early August 2021.

Lyla June Johnston is an Indigenous poet and musician, scholar and community organizer of Diné (Navajo), Tsétsêhéstâhese (Cheyenne) and European lineages from Taos, New Mexico. She will share from an Indigenous perspective the sacredness of forests. 

Inês Ferreira-Norman is an artist, farmer and artistic director of Matéria Cíclica|Cyclic Matter, an eco-arts organization located in an ecological reserve in Portugal where artists and community experiment with diverse strategies to provoke an ecocentric culture.

1.5 hours


3pm MDT (10pm WEST)

The Songs of Trees: Stories from Nature’s Great Connectors: Q&A

David George Haskell winner of the 2018 John Burroughs Medal for Outstanding Natural History Writing will be available to answer questions about his book Songs of Trees, winner of the 2020 Iris Book Award, for which he repeatedly visited a dozen trees in cities and forests across continents, exploring the connections with people, microbes, fungi, and other plants and animals. You do not need to be part of the book club to participate or have read the book. Songs of Trees

45 minutes


3:45pm MDT (10:45pm WEST)

Finale: Poetry reading

The grand finale will be a poetry reading by ecoartspace member Katy Gurin from her debut collection, Galore. Gurin is a restoration engineer and poet who lives amongst the redwoods in Eureka, California.

15 minutes

ecoartspace, LLC

Mailing address: PO Box 5211 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software