I AM WATER billboards


Last year ecoartspace collaborated with Our Humanity Matters and SaveArtSpace to place eleven billboards in East Williamsburg in Brooklyn, New York with works by ecoartspace members focused on our connections with water. For 2022, ecoartspace and Our Humanity Matters will continue with a series of billboards focused on water as a source of Life that mediates our planet's ecosystems for humans and nonhumans alike, including all watershed beings such as trees, forests, fish, animals, insects, soil and mycorrhizal networks. We are also interested in work that questions the thought processes involved with human interventions, the built environment that affects water quality, especially agriculture, as well as drought due to human-caused climate change.

All applicants including members and non-members were invited to submit from one to ten images at $10 each. The deadline was May 15, 2022. Over 150 artists applied, submitting over 450 images. We currently have enough funding to do 5-6 billboards and are seeking to raise matching funds to do a total of 10 billboards, as we did in 2021. Locations for boards to be determined after selection.

Jurors Patricia Watts, founder of ecoartspace, and Tanja Andrejasic Wechsler, founder of Our Humanity Matters have selected forty finalists (below) and are asking ecoartspace members (currently over 600) to vote for their top ten artists/boards. This page was created for visual reference and to help raise matching funds. Although, in theory, we would love to place all 40 billboards!

Finalist below include (in order of appearance): Jane Szabo, Andrea Pinheiro, Linda Gass, Lisa Tubach, Taina Litwak, Casey Brown, Dawn Lee, Brad Tempkin, Nerys Levy, Patti Trimble, Alexander Heilner, Rebecca Riley, Claudia Travares, Charlotta Hauksdottir, Carol Paquet, E.J. McAdams, Marietta Patricia Leis, Anne Yoncha, Sara Ekholm Eriksson, Perri Howard, Lyn Horton, Krista DeNio, Karen Hackenberg, Heidi Quante, Fariba Bogzaran, Carolyn Monastra, Bart Woodstrup, Lea Pemezas, Toby Zallman, Tammy West, Sant Khalsa, Robin Lasser & Marguerite Perret, Renata Padovan, Monique Martin, Meredith Nemirov, Margaret LeJeune, Krista Steinke, Fredericka Foster, David Cass, Dana Fritz.

July 1, 2022

And, the winners are (from top to bottom, left to right): Sant Khalsa (California), Carolyn Monastra (New York), Renata Padovan (Brazil), Alexander Heilner (Maryland), Tammy West (Texas), and Karen Hackenberg (Washington).

<< All album photos 24/40 photos
Heidi Quante, All that Glitters. . . California, 2022, film still, dimensions variable

ecoartspace, LLC

Mailing address: PO Box 5211 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software